Kiwi Lane Designs D.T. Doodle #3

2

January 21, 2013 by jenniferbudge

I was so excited to find out that Kiwi Lane Designs (where I get all my scrapbooking Inspiration from) was pairing up with Authenique Paper this Month.  What did that mean for me?  Well I got the opportunity to work with two of Authentiques newest Paper Lines Seasons: Spring and Seasons: Winter during Kiwi Lanes D.T. Doodle Challenge this month.

It’s Monday, and today I was given the task of creating Kiwi Lane Designs D.T. Doodle. If you’ve been around KLD, you know that D.T. Doodles is the sketch challenge that they previously issued once a month. If you are a sketch lover then you are in for a real treat as D.T. Doodles will be heading your way each and every Monday! (Check out their Blog each Monday to see each D.T. Doodle Sketch Challenge) And for anyone that participates, you will have chance to win a random drawing for a $25.00 gift code to the Kiwi Lane shop. Here’s this weeks sketches:

My first creation was for Authentiques Seasons: Winter Collection.  I loved working with this paper.  The first thing I noticed was the tree-scape in the lower corner of the Winter One Page.  (I never knew what to do with those embellished corners of patterned paper before but using my Kiwi Lane D.T. Sets I was able to incorporate the tree-scape into one of my borders on my page.  In the past I would have just not used that piece of paper, now I love to include them in my layouts.  I’m also really hooked on the Tag Sets Kiwi Lane offers and use them on almost all of my layouts.  They are great for journaling or just to fill up empty space.

Authentiques Seasons: Winter Paper Collection Layout

Authentique Paper- Seasons: Winter

Designer Templates Used on 1-Page Layout: Paisley Place 1B & 3B, 12″ Strip Set 1″ & 1/2″, Tags 1 & 3, Winter 2, Photo Mat 

Designer Templates Used on Card: Adorn 1A & 3A, Tiny Accents 2T, Tags 6 

I love using the Templates that are half of an object and duplicating them when I trace and cut to create a whole object.  I tuck the seams behind a strip like I did above and you can’t tell it’s two halves of a snowflake b/c this way it looks like one giant snowflake.

My second creation was for Authentiques Seasons: Spring Collection.  (Unfortunately we still have snow on the ground here in Idaho)  Working with this collection did get me very excited for it to warm up around here. Again love the colors of Authentiques Paper Lines.  Stunning. Again I pulled out my Designer Templates which I use for everything and began to create.

Like my Winter Layout above I decided again, to show how to use those embellished corners of patterned paper that we all never know what to do with and by using my Border Set from Kiwi Lane I incorporate them into my layouts.  This layout was so easy to pull together and inexpensive which is why I love using my Designer Templates on everything I create.  I didn’t have to use any embellishments other than my patterned paper to create this.

spring

Authentique Paper- Seasons: Spring

Designer Templates Used on 1-Page Layout: Paisley Place 1A & 3A, 12″ Strip Set 1/2″, Tiny Shapes 3T, Tiny Nature 6T, Winter 1

Designer Templates Used on Card: Adorn 3B, Tiny Strip Set 1/2″, Tags 1, Tiny Accents 4T & 1T 

Below is a card I made with my scraps left over my layout above.  I’m absolutely in love with  how it turned out.  There are also a couple close ups for you as well.

To see more from Authentique check them out on their blog.

And if you’re wondering how you can create these layouts you can get inspiration here.

2 thoughts on “Kiwi Lane Designs D.T. Doodle #3

  1. Love what you did with the collections ! Love The Big Chill layout. Almost makes me wish I lived somewhere it snowed…………..NOT ! LOL Lovely cards also.

Leave a Reply

Want to see everything I CREATE? Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts via email.

Join 258 other followers

A Little About Me…

I'm not afraid to say that I'm constantly learning new techniques and styles from others. This is a place for me to show you all the Things That I Create. After all crafting is all about getting new ideas and trying them out. ENJOY!!!

