January Blog Hop w/ Kiwi Lane Designs

62

January 3, 2014 by jenniferbudge

blog hopWelcome to Things That I Create. You should be making your way to me from my dear friend Jenn and her blog CRAFTING MOMEMENTS.  If you’re not, and you’d like to start from the beginning please START HERE!!! Otherwise, WELCOME and enjoy!

_____________________________________

Happy New Year! Have you sent off your Thank You Notes Yet?

This month, Kiwi Lane Designs is featuring 3 Designer Template Sets which are Tiny Nature, Winter, & Chevron you can snag them on sale all month long so don’t miss out on getting them all.  Being that it’s the beginning of the year I have been thinking of Thank You Notes for all of my family members who always seem to spoil us and our 4-year old son at Christmas so today it’s all about CHRISTMAS THANK YOU NOTES!  If you haven’t had a chance to work on yours yet hopefully these give you a little inspiration.

photo_6

Chevron: 1B & Tiny Nature: 2T

DSC_7164

_____________________________

photo_5Chevrons: 1B & 2B,  Tiny Tags: 3T & 6T

DSC_7159_____________________________

photo_3Chevrons: 1A, 2A, & 3A  Tiny Nature: 4T & 3T

DSC_7170

_____________________________

photo_2

Chevrons: 1A & 2A  Shapes: 8T  Tiny Nature: 3T

DSC_7157_____________________________

photoChevrons: 1A & 1B  Tiny Tags: 3T & 4T  Tiny Nature: 2TDSC_7168

_____________________________

FULL Blog Hop Order:

  1. Kiwi Lane http://kiwilane.com/here/blog/
  2. Jill Cornelius http://brought-to-you-by-the-letter-j.blogspot.com/
  3. Julie Ann Cordero www.ourlifeinscraps.blogspot.com
  4. Melissa Dehne http://abitofscrappygoodness.blogspot.com/
  5. Stephanie Umpleby htpp://sucw.blogspot.com
  6. Leslie Prinkki www.http://scrapsofmine.blogspot.com
  7. Jennifer Nicholes http://craftingmoments.wordpress.com/
  8. Jennifer Budge http://www.thingsthaticreate.wordpress.com/<–You’re HERE
  9. LAST STOP!!!! Staci Jones http://scrapbookingischeaperthantherapy.blogspot.com/

_____________________________

__________________________________________

Would you like a chance to win a FREE Winter Designer Template Set??? If So make sure to read below for details on how you can win!!!

winterO.K. so a lot of folks will be just making a comment on this post to be entered to win the $25.00 Gift Card Kiwi Lane Designs gives out each blog hop.  Well… you’ll be happy to know those people who just make random posts saying, “GREAT JOB” will not be entered to win the above Winter Designer Template Set.

To be entered to win I’d love for you to share with me your New Years Resolution.  Big or Small whatever it is I’d love to hear.  Mine this year has changed from the LOSING WEIGHT which it has been for who knows how many years now and has changed to sending out birthday cards to all of my nieces and nephews and other family members this year.  I’m always so busy and forget but really want to make sure everyone knows I have remembered their special day and am thinking about them.  So there it is, that easy!!!

Leave your post by Thursday January 9th at Midnight MST.  Must live in the United States to win or have someone in the United States you wouldn’t mind sharing your prize with.  Sorry I will not ship outside the USA.

Winner will be announced on Friday January 10th!!! 

62 thoughts on “January Blog Hop w/ Kiwi Lane Designs

  1. Lupe says:

    Lovely ideas! Inspired to make cards and scrapbook!!

  2. Melissa says:

    I have such a hard time making cards ~ but yours turned out great! I don’t usually do resolutions ~ because I usually don’t stick to them but you may have just inspired me to make more cards and send them out ( if and when I do make them I usually don’t make it to the post office, lol). then

    • LOL… Melissa, I have found a few filled out cards of my own from time to time. LOL… Too bad they’re personalized and wouldn’t make sense to give them out years later to the same person.

  3. Vanessa McPherson says:

    I love that you displayed your layering technique along with your final project! The cards are gorgeous!!

  4. Sheri P says:

    Cool cards – the mix of chevrons makes a fun background!

    I’ve always made resolutions and haven’t been very good at keeping them This year, my resolution is simply this: Do Better. If I do better on even just one tiny thing each day, I am calling it a success!!

  5. Brenda says:

    You seem to really have a talent for using the Kiwi templates and your cards are gorgeous. One of my Resolutions is to eat mostly ‘Real Foods’ this year for health.

    • Good for you Brenda, I’ve seen more and more people doing the CLEAN eating thing. I wish I had the guts to try it. I’m just so darn picky and don’t like too many healthy things.

  6. Christina S. says:

    Agh! You reminded me! I need to make thank you cards, too… Thanks for the ideas 🙂 I HATE New Years resolutions, because I am awful at them, but this year I’m really going to try. Really. I want to stop just buying scrapbook supplies and actually use them! So 2 layouts a week!! That’s the goal! Good luck me!

    • What a good resolution. I’m totally there with you though> I have so many things I’ve saved for that perfect page and then here how many years later I haven’t used them. I want to use up my stash as well.

  7. Annette McGinnis says:

    I love all your cards, and your New Years Resolution. I need to make that one myself…. I make so many cards but fail to send them. My Resolution this year is to be a “Bucket Filler” everyday. I find that I can snap to quickly when I am busy or stressed through out the day thus being a “Bucket Dipper” striving to be more positive and encouraging to everyone but mostly the ones closest to me, my family. If you have not heard of being a bucket filler it is a great book by Carol McCoud!

  8. Kristy Lee says:

    You know, for being quite sick recently you sure knocked this out of the park. Well done lady!

    • Thanks Kristy Lee. I’m still not 100%. Would love another week of doing nothing. Threw these together one evening. Really like how they turned out and was something I needed to do so it worked out great. Cards are great that way though, they don’t take long at all. 🙂

  9. My New Years Resolution, again this year, is to be more organized and better prepared! I always seem to be last minute and running behind: we’ll see how this goes! I love your cards and how easy these templates seem to be. I am not a card maker, but can see how easily these ideas can be carried over to scrapbook layouts! Very creative!

  10. Mary says:

    Great cards! It amazes me how many templates you can place on a card and yet it doesn’t look over crowded. New Year resolutions are always a bust for me. I want to se my time more wisely.

  11. My New Years Resolution happens to be the same as yours. I am trying to be more connected with my family this year by sending out birthday cards to my nieces and nephews, great nieces and great nephews along with all my siblings. In all there will be about 45 birthday’s that I will be trying to stay on top of this year. If I make it it will be the first year ever! Wish me luck!

    • Well get pre-creating those cards if you’re hand making them all. If you get behind there’s always the $1 store. They have 2/$1 cards that get me out of trouble all the time. LOL… I’d love to spend some time on each one and make it personal though, so that’s why it’s my goal. I married into a BIG family. My husband is one of eight children and so with only 4 of the 8 kids being done having kids I’ve got 23 nieces and nephews already. I come from a small family and so this big family thing can overwhelm me sometimes. I just really want them all to know I am thinking of them on their birthdays.

  12. Leslie says:

    Amazing! You are so good at creating cards with the templates. Loved them all!

  13. traupman says:

    I have been following you since the last hop and am truly in awe of your use of KLD! Do you teach classes and are you close to Texas? 🙂 I have many templates but just am lost. I am going to try and re create these cards for my Thank you notes also! They are ALL wonderful. I never make New Years Resolutions…….however this year I did and I am going to get it done in 2014!! Mine is to declutter and organize my home and to make better financial decisions. Thank you for another great post!

    • Thank You so much for your kind words. Don’t get overwhelmed by the templates. Seriously!!! I’m an in-law to the owners and keep things very basic in my layouts/creations. The best advice is to scraplift. If you see something create it yourself. All of my projects I give a before and after photo. So you can see how I layed out the templates on my page before I began to cut anything.

      I’m totally with you on decluttering and organizing too! I don’t want to keep anything I don’t use. I actually started a facebook garage sale group when I moved here (TO IDAHO) that I have began to go thru all of my STUFF and downsize. It really feels good. So good luck!!!

      And always ask if you have questions. I have a Things That I Create Facebook Page you can ask questions on anytime.

  14. bearsmother says:

    Most resolutions only last a few days. I’m making one that will last through the year – I want to improve on my card making skills. I’m going to try any new technique I see demonstrated on the blogs and pages that I visit. I will pass this skill (if I perfect it) on to the ladies who come to my Stampin’ Night each month. I love being creative and working with paper is a good way to fulfill that need. thanks for all the design layouts you gave with your projects. I’m going to try some of these templates – a new technique I haven’t done before.

  15. StephanieK says:

    I really enjoy seeing the layout before with the templates and then seeing the after. Gorgeous! My new years resolution is to scrapbook more. I want to take the time out of my busy schedule to record those precious memories, I even joined a local scrap group. Yay NEW YEARS!

  16. Paula S says:

    I am so happy you did cards!! I LOVE cards and yours are so cute! They are so much quicker than 2 page layouts or albums! (although I love those too)! My new years resolution is changed this year too! My husband got laid off on new years eve, so My resolution is to be happy with what I have been blessed with already, to enjoy my family, and be more appreciative of the little things!! Live simply and make cards!!!

    • Sorry about your husband being laid off Paula. I can totally relate to this. We had to bankrupt in 2008 due to having to close my husbands business after the economy crashing. We are young and it was awful but I’m now grateful for those times b/c I learned so much and look at things so differently now. I’m so much more grateful for what we have. We don’t have what we used to but we are happy and that’s what counts. Good luck to you and your family.

  17. Robin M. says:

    My New Year’s Resolution is to lose weight. It’s my resolution every year and I do lose weight I just don’t keep it off so by the next new year it is time to lose again. LOL

  18. Jackie says:

    Lovely layers on the cards! I especially LOVE the layered tags!

  19. Jeanene says:

    Great way to use the templates. My resolution is to eat more apples. I’m terrible about eating fruit and I intend to train myself to eat more apples.

    • That is the funniest, yet BEST resolution I’ve heard yet. Made me giggle. I should do that too. You know I never crave an apple but when I actually eat them I think, “what a yummy healthy snack” So I too should eat more apples in 2014. For me (I like fruit) I should say I should try to eat a couple vegetables. I HATE VEGGIES!!!

  20. Lissa says:

    Oh my goodness — so many great card ideas! You are the master of these!! 🙂

  21. Linda M says:

    These are wonderful cards. I am going to make cards this weekend to send to family for all the kind gifts they generously gave to me. Thank you for sharing.

  22. Lori A. Geise says:

    My new year’s resolution? Is to scrap more. My son turned 10 in August and I still don’t have his baby book finished. So I hope/plan on scrapping something every week. Even if I only get an hour in every week, that’s something. I really hope I can keep this resolution.

    • Good Luck Lori. My son is only 4 and with all the photos I take I’m feeling like I’m starting to fall behind already. As long as you make some time I’m sure you’ll do great. Whenever I finally get a CROP DAY I feel so good. It’s just making the time for that for myself. 🙂

  23. Heather Gray says:

    I love your design process! Great cards! I want to craft more and finish unfinished projects!

  24. Barb in AK says:

    Wow! You are a prolific card maker!! Thanks for all the great ideas.

  25. Brittany says:

    I do love these cards!! My resolution is to be more organized and not procrastinate so much!

  26. I have several, but one of my New Years’ resolutions is to try to let things go that I cannot control. I sometimes let colleagues at work stress me out because of their poor planning. Their lack of proper planning should not constitute my emergency. I will keep telling myself that anyway. 😉

  27. Mary See says:

    Love the last card (butterflies) colors and look. Just spent 2013 working insane amount of hours at work (super heavy project) so for 2014 it is time for me and my family. Plan on more family outings, bought a new camera so more time for pictures and scrappy. Definitely time to get back to what is important my family and some time for me!

  28. Sue D says:

    Wonderful thank you cards. My resolution is to complete unfinished projects, make more cards for our church card ministry and send a box of cards to OWH.
    slrdowney at hotmail dot com

  29. Wendy Kerth says:

    maybe my New Years resolutions should be to make more cards….and use all my kiwi lane templates!!!

  30. theresarn says:

    Love your cards. As for my resolution I would love to scrapbook more, now if I can just get my scrapbook table put together. I think my craft table will be my resolution it’s small and obtainable.

  31. Jacque Barry says:

    I am not a card maker. I read a blog earlier where she said she doesn’t send out her cards because she is afraid they will throw them away. That would make me sad too, but yours are so cute I just might have to join my friends card making group. Thank you for sharing!

  32. Brittany M. says:

    Ha, thanks for the reminder to complete my thank you cards…I’ve been a big slacker! Which, luckily is one of my new years resolutions is to actually mail the cards I make and do it ON TIME!
    Thanks for the beautiful inspiration. I love the colors you used in your cards…so pretty!

  33. Ronda Cook says:

    Cute card ideas!! I enjoy making cards for others. My New Year’s resolution is to incorporate healthier eating into my diet and just GET MOVING with yoga and walking. Thanks for the 2 chances to win!

  34. Jill Klomp says:

    I love the ideas! I’m new to Kiwi, and don’t own too many templates, though the mail came yesterday:)… I was thinking the big templates were too big for smaller (7×7 or 6×6) pages, but if they work for cards they probably would work (yes?)… New year’s resolution… to seriously scrap more, which means cleaning up my space, I’ve gotten away from it, and really need to get back! Thanks so much for the ideas!

  35. Brandi says:

    Your cards…beautiful! Using the templates makes it look so easy, but your embellishments and choice of papers really make them look so much harder than it is. Thank you for the inspiration. 🙂

    New Year’s Resolution: Simplify…not sure how that is going to happen, but I sure do want to make sure that priorities are focused and the rest are just details. Step one is declutter. Thanks for asking! Happy New Year!!!

  36. Sharon Burns says:

    Beautiful cards!

  37. Robin B. says:

    Gorgeous thank you cards! I love the layering and variety of patterned papers you used. I haven’t made any New Years resolutions in about 10 years because I strive to make changes every month instead of just at the beginning of the year. Doing it monthly makes me stop and look at myself/life to figure out what I need to change or get back on track 🙂

  38. Liblby M. says:

    I loved your cards jen!
    I like you hope to take off a few lbs and am also hoping to get to spend more quality time with my family!

  39. Jeannine says:

    Resolution: to complete more scrapbook pages than last year’s 38 pages. Thanks to my KLD templates I got for my birthday and Christmas from my son and daughter I have already completed 8 pages.

    • Congratulations!!! That’s awesome!!! I am really hoping to make more time to scrapbook myself. WITH FRIENDS FOR FUN!! I love crop nights. Anyway, so glad you’re loving your new templates!!! -Jen (I’m the one who shipped them all to you. I work in the Kiwi Warehouse and do their customer service)

  40. Mary Kay Ross says:

    Happy 2014!!! I am late getting to read the Blog Hop but, nevertheless, I am so enthralled by everything! It makes me want to start working right away. I love your cards. You are very talented. I have three resolutions. One is to be the healthiest that I can be this year. Two is to get my scrapbooking room cleaned up, organized, and ready to use! I have seriously let it go while making tags and cards at Christmas and I love for it to look magazine beautiful. It is far from it right now. The third is helping myself realize that I don’t need 3 hours of time in order to sit down and work on a card. I need to grab every moment that I can to do what I love doing.

  41. Love your cards Jen you are such a talented lady my friend….

Leave a Reply

Want to see everything I CREATE? Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts via email.

Join 259 other followers

A Little About Me…

I'm not afraid to say that I'm constantly learning new techniques and styles from others. This is a place for me to show you all the Things That I Create. After all crafting is all about getting new ideas and trying them out. ENJOY!!!

